This Website and the Sub Sites attached to it use cookies. For details please click here. By continuing to use this Website or any Sub Sites, you are consenting to the use of these cookies. You can switch off cookies at any time using your browser settings but if you do, this may affect your user experience.
Please wait...
Royal London Club Championship
Round One Preview


Many of the Last 16 of the Royal London Club Championship avoided the showers on Sunday 12th July as six of the eight Quarter Final teams are now known.

Cheshire Premier League side Bowdon enjoyed their trip over the Pennines as they came out on top of a close match against Sheffield Collegiate of the Yorkshire Premier League. The hosts chose to bat first but were in all sorts of trouble at 20-4, Chris Ashling doing the majority of the damage with 4-27 from 8 overs. Collegiate recovered thanks to opener Ben Rooke’s patient 76 but Bowdon kept the pressure on and the home side finished on 170-8 from their 45 overs. The Bowdon reply started well but they went from 30-0 to 37-3 thanks to Matt Lee who had Collegiate’s best figures of 2-17 from his 9 overs. Carl Hey (37) and Patrick Ashling (48) enjoyed a 74 run partnership but after Ashling went caught behind off the bowling of Billy Root (2-41), Bowdon suffered a second collapse going from 111-3 to 128-7. Matthew Tully joined James McDougall and this pair moved to score onto 157 when McDougall was bowled but Tully kept his cool and guided his team to 173-8 to enjoy a two-wicket win.

Bowdon will travel to Chester le Street in the Quarter Finals after the North East Premier League side beat Leyland by five wickets. Leyland batted first and were indebted to Nathan McDonnell as he marshalled the visitors innings. McDonnell hit a fantastic 105 from just 91 balls, but the fact Leyland only managed 187 all out shows that the other Leyland batsmen struggled. Only one other reached double figures and it was Graeme Cessford, who has returned to the club after two seasons at Worcestershire, who did the damage with 5-22 from his 9 overs. In reply, Simon Birtwisle (68) and Quentin Hughes (70 not out) helped Chester le Street reach their target with 13 balls to spare as the 2009 champions moved into the Quarter Finals.

Blackheath enjoyed their trip north of the Thames as the Kent Premier League thrashed Essex Premier League’s Brentwood. The Blackheath bowlers enjoyed their day as James Hands (3-8), Tanweer Sikandar (3-10) and Jahid Ahmed (2-20) skittled the hosts for just 97. In reply Ahmed hit 40 as the Kent side won by 6 wickets with nearly 24 overs remaining. Meanwhile in Sussex, Roffey welcomed Southern Premier League side Havant to Horsham and it was the Sussex Premier League side that booked its place in the Quarter Finals. Roffey were put into bat and it was ‘keeper Matt Davies and Rohit Jagota’s partnership of 85 that helped the hosts to 242-7. Havant found themselves at 39-5 in reply but Chris Stone smashed 67 from just 39 balls to try and bring the visitors back into the match. But when Stone fell the chase stalled at the Hampshire side were dismissed for 209.

It was the tale of two 90’s in Kidderminster as Victoria welcomed Kimberley Institute to Chester Road. The hosts batted first and thanked Richard Kimberlin for his 96 not out from 92 balls as the Birmingham & District Premier League side reached 223-7. However Kimberley Institute, after losing their two openers early, saw Tom Rowe (79 not out from 97 balls) and Sam Johnson (97 not out from 93 balls) put on an impressive unbeaten partnership of 187 to win by 8 wickets.

Finally in Derbyshire where Ockbrook & Borrowash welcomed Liverpool & District Premier League side Northern and it was Merseyside team that came out on top of a low scoring match. The visitors batted first and only three players made double figures, captain James Cole top scoring with 67 in a total of 158 all out on a tricky pitch. Ockbrook & Borrowash also found batting difficult and despite Jack Radcliffe hitting 53, the Northern bowlers came out on top to dismiss their hosts for 133 with Ryan Maddock taking 3-19 and Paul Park 3-31.

In the other two Last 16 matches, no play was possible at Bath v Sunbury while at Ealing, the 2010 and 2013 finalists were struggling at 31-5 chasing Swardeston’s 140 all out before the rain came to abandon the match. Both matches will try again next Sunday.


Welcome to the competition pages for the Royal London National Club Championship. The full draw, fixtures and results from 2015 can be found by clicking on one of the buttons below.